CB&W: The Wall left behind

Old Delhi- A medieval city which once had its glory and visual splendor, Once the Capitol of Mughal Empire and the residing place of The Great Emperor Shahjahan who later created  a Wonder of the world namely Taj Mahal. Shah Jahan made this city as a walled city with few meters tall wall seperating the capitol of Delhi from the rest of the Empire.

“It was once filled with mansions of nobles and members of the royal court, along with elegant mosques and gardens. Today, despite having become extremely crowded and dilapidated, it still serves as the symbolic heart of metropolitan Delhi.”-WikiPedia

When I shifted from my old home to my new home seven or eight years back I got very confused, because when I looked around some stores wrote this place as Delhi and others as New Delhi .

Delhi Wall
Old Wall surrounding Delhi


This wall is the reason for this confusion just 100 or 200 meters from my home.

Neglected behind a police station running parallel to parked cars, situated is the remains of a huge wall which once used to guard Delhi from the outer world. This wall is the remaining part of that kilometers long wall of “walled city” and this wall is behind this dilemma , because I live almost at the edge or the border of old and new Delhi ,i can write both ways, but I proudly write it as Delhi-02 because it’s my Delhi My pride, and its this historical importance and heritage that makes this city a better one.

This Post is my submission for the weekly Cee’s Black & White Challenge.

Cee’s Black & White Challenge Banner

black-white-banner

2 thoughts on “CB&W: The Wall left behind

Leave a Reply

